Boutique Karma

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Craft Friday – Charitable Stores February 12, 2010

Filed under: Blogging,charity,crafty friday,Uncategorized — boutiquekarma @ 3:19 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

A few weeks ago, after the horrifying earthquakes in Haiti I pledged 20% of all sales from my store to Doctors Without Borders / Medecins Sans Frontiers for relief in the area. I did a special feature on different stores giving to this cause. Today I want to showcase other stores giving to different causes. I was inspired for this feature by one of my Guild Members (as a seller on Etsy & Artfire I belong to a few teams/guilds) on Artfire who has a line of her jewelry dedicated to Breast Cancer Awareness.

I know that Haiti will need ongoing support over the long run, but at the end of this month I’ll be changing my charity to something closer to my heart. My father has Colorectal Cancer, one of the cancers that are seldom discussed. I’d like to donate 10% of my sales to the support to the Canadian Cancer Society. As of March 1st I will keep a tally on my front page to show how much we have raised.

Here are a selection of a few Etsy & Artfire Artisans who are trying to make a difference:

Breast Cancer Awareness Bracelet by Tali's Creations on Artfire. Her breast cancer awareness line is made in loving memory of her sister who passed away from breast Cancer in 1998.

Survivor - Awareness Silver Reversible Pendant Necklace - Janes Hope Collection by 2BellesandaBead on Artfire

Autism Awareness Ribbon with Yellow Hand by JodisCraftEmporium on Artfire

Rescued Princess Fleece Dog Sweater ~ Promote ADOPTION! xs by SpoiledBratzwear. Proceeds go to her animal rescue organization.

The Dreamer - Team In Training- Proceeds go to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society by sidrasboutique on Etsy

Daisy Party Favor Box - Custom Colors - Proceeds Benefit the American Cancer Society by LamaWorks on Etsy

pink hope note cards (8) by inkandenvelopes on Etsy

Blue Ribbon Colon Cancer Awareness Beaded Flower ID Lanyard Badge Holde by Lanyardsforthecause on etsy

 

5 Responses to “Craft Friday – Charitable Stores”

  1. Holly Says:

    Thank you SO MUCH for featuring my Rescued Princess dog sweater ๐Ÿ™‚
    Holly
    http://www.silverhounds.org

  2. Tali Says:

    Tara – What a beautiful article. Thank you so much for featuring one of my breast cancer awareness bracelets in memory of my sister.

    Tali

  3. Crystal Says:

    Thank you so much for featuring us and for supporting such important causes. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Prayers and good thoughts for your father.

  4. jessica Says:

    Thank you for featuring my hope note cards! A portion of the proceeds from all hope card sales is donated to Susan G. Komen for the Cure – it is definitely a wonderful feeling to help support such a great cause. And so wonderful to see so many others who are doing the same. Thank you for sharing this beautiful entry and so many great products!

    jessica
    ink & envelopes
    http://www.inkandenvelopes.etsy.com

  5. Trace Says:

    Thank you so much for featuring my Colon Cancer Lanyard!
    Warm thoughts and regards for your Dad.
    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

